‘I didn’t know’: Tiger Woods takes to Twitter to speak out on rule violation and penalty; Update: Canseco chimes in | Soshal Network, Social Circle Connection

‘I didn’t know’: Tiger Woods takes to Twitter to speak out on rule violation and penalty; Update: Canseco chimes in

0

http://twitter.com/#!/TigerWoods/status/323101838914232320

As Twitchy reported earlier, the Twitterverse was buzzing about Tiger Woods Saturday morning. Woods was assessed a two-stroke penalty, but was not disqualified for his drop at hole 15 at the Masters on Friday.

Woods took to Twitter to explain his take on what happened.

I didn’t know I had taken an incorrect drop prior to signing my scorecard. Subsequently, I met with the Masters Committee Saturday morning..

— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 13, 2013

and was advised they had reviewed the incident prior to the completion of my round. Their initial determination…

— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 13, 2013

was that there was no violation, butthey had additional concerns based on my post-round interview. After discussing the situation…

— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 13, 2013

…with them this morning, I was assessed a two-shot penalty. I understand and accept the penalty and respect the Committees’ decision.

— Tiger Woods (@TigerWoods) April 13, 2013

Update:

Twitchy readers weigh in:

Tiger Woods cribs from Steve Martin: “I forgot.”j-walkblog.com/index.php?/web…@twitchyteam

— Razor (@hale_razor) April 13, 2013

@twitchyteam complicated, extraneous, excessive rules. Kinda sounds like #TaxLaw.

— Jason(@Veritas1977) April 13, 2013

Here’s the statement from Fred Ridley,  Augusta’s competition committee chairman.

Statement from Augusta National rules committee on Tiger Woods matter: ow.ly/k28AR

— Byron York (@ByronYork) April 13, 2013

Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by Tiger Woods at the 15th hole.

In preparation for his fifth shot, the player dropped his ball in close proximity to where he had played his third shot in apparent conformance with Rule 26. After being prompted by a television viewer, the Rules Committee reviewed a video of the shot while he was playing the 18th hole. At that moment and based on that evidence, the Committee determined he had complied with the Rules.

After he signed his scorecard, and in a television interview subsequent to the round, the player stated that he played further from the point than where he had played his third shot. Such action would constitute playing from the wrong place.

The subsequent information provided by the player’s interview after he had completed play warranted further review and discussion with him this morning. After meeting with the player, it was determined that he had violated Rule 26, and he was assessed a two-stroke penalty. The penalty of disqualification was waived by the Committee under Rule 33 as the Committee had previously reviewed the information and made its initial determination prior to the finish of the player’s round.

But do we really want to hear from Tiger and the rules committee? Or do we want to hear from José Canseco?

85% of all golfers are taking illegal drops. hug for u tiger @tigerwoods

— Jose Canseco (@JoseCanseco) April 13, 2013

There it is.

Share Your Comments

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.